Nidarnes/Nidaros (Trondheim)


 Coins minted at Nidarnes, later called Nidaros 


The oldest Norwegian coins we can identify with a particular mint are early pennies from Harald Hardråde, bearing the inscription GEREITHA ON NID. The inscription is designed after an Anglo-Saxon model, to include the name of the mint-master, Gereitha, who at this point was striking coins at Nidarnes.

Nidaros was an important mint site throughout the Middle Ages. After an agreement between the king and the church in 1222, the archbishop of Nidaros was granted the right to issue coins. A letter of coining rights specified that the archbishopric was entitled to one moneyer, or "hammerer of silver" who knew the trade, and along with him, one servant boy. 

The archbishop's manor lies next to the Nidaros Cathedral in Trondheim. The construction of the manor started in the second half of the 1100s. In 1991, extensive archaeological excavations were initiated at the archbishop's manor. In a short time, traces had been found of older buildings associated with the main manor complex. One building excited particular interest: the chequered floor was made from ceramic tiles, there were signs of a large fireplace, and residue from metal smelting was found. Other small objects, such as melting crucibles, coin blanks and a die, were further evidence that this was the archbishop's coin workshop. The remains of the oldest buildings are dated to the mid-1400s. Finding this workshop in Trondheim gives us a unique window onto medieval coining in Norway. 
After Archbishop Olav Engelbrektsson (1523-1537) had to flee the country during the Reformation, coins were never again minted in Nidaros. 

Monetary units: 
Penny, quarter-penny bracteate, skilling, witten, mark
Issuing authorities: 
Harald Hardråde, Olav Kyrre, Magnus Berrføtt, Sverre Sigurdsson, Håkon Håkonsson, Archbishop Jon Raude, Archbishop Gaute Ivarsson, Archbishop Erik Valkendorf, Archbishop Olav Engelbrektsson