Skilling coins from King Hans to Carl XIV Johan 


Med King Hans (1483-1513) introduced the Lübeck monetary system in Norway. The name refers to the powerful Hanseatic town of Lübeck. The relative values according to the new system were:

1 mark = 16 skilling = 192 pennies
1 skilling = 12 pennies
From 1628 the skilling and the half-skilling were the smallest coin denominations in the Norwegian coins series. The value of these minor coins continually fell in relation to the riksdaler. In the new Norwegian monetary system of 1816, 120 skillings were to equal one species taler. The first coins minted according to the new system was a copper skilling from 1816.

Ordinary small-denomination coins from the union with Denmark were in circulation in Norway long after the union was dissolved. Laws of 1839 and 1842 declared that these coins were no longer legal tender in Norway. The famous politician and economist Anton Martin Schweigaard described the situation as follows:  

An indeterminable quantity of small-denomination coins, spread everywhere, have been granted asylum in our kingdom by a law that recognises all kinds of skilling coins as Norwegian, if only they bear the name of the Danish-Norwegian kings. The law ensures their validity despite the fact that they are rejected by the rest of the world; it gives recognition even to counterfeits.
Monetary units: 
Forty-eight-skilling, 24-skilling, 16-skilling, 12-skilling, eight-skilling, four-skilling, two-skilling, skilling, half-skilling.
Issuing authorities: 
Hans, Archbishop Erik Valkendorf, Christian II, Archbishop Olav Engelbrektsson, Frederick I, Christian III, Frederick II, Christian IV, Frederick III, Christian V, Frederick IV, Christian VI, Frederick V, Christian VII, Frederick VI, Carl XIII, Carl XIV Johan, Oscar I, Carl XV, Oscar II