Mark-coins from Frederick III to Christian V


The mark was originally money of account, that is a specification of an amount of silver minted in small-denomination coins. The mark was first minted as a coin in northern Germany in the years just after 1500. The first minting of mark in Norway was initiated by Archbishop Olav Engelbrektsson (1523-1537).

The relative value between mark, taler and skilling changed on several occasions until 1625. From then on the relative values were kept fixed until 1816, when the mark was replaced with twentyfour-skilling pieces (ort) as the money of account in the new monetary system.
The relative value of riksdaler, mark and skilling after 1625 and through the Denmark-Norway union
1 riksdaler = 6 mark = 96 skilling
1 mark = 16 skilling
1 skilling

Monetary units:
Four-mark, two-mark, mark, half-mark
Issuing authorities:
Archbishop Olav Engelbrektsson, Christian III, Frederick II, Christian IV, Frederick III, Christian V, Frederick IV