Species taler


Species taler currency from Christian IV 


The species taler was accepted in many parts of Europe. This large silver coin, which was intended to be equal in value with the Rhineland gold gulden, was first minted in Tirol in 1486. But the real breakthrough came with the silver gulden minted in Joachimsthal, Bohemia in 1519, which became the foremost model. The Joachimtaler, which was soon to be referred to simply as the "taler", was copied all over Europe. In Danish it was called "daler". Before the taler was produced regularly and in significant quantities locally, talers of Austrian, German and Dutch origin were widely used in Denmark-Norway, as both written records and coin-finds bear witness to. 

In 1544, the riksdaler species was made the basis for the monetary system in Denmark-Norway. The first Norwegian taler was minted in Gimsøy monastery by Skien, southern Norway, in 1546 (the Gimsøy taler). The silver content of the species taler remained relatively stable until the Riksbank taler was introduced in 1813. 

Monetary units: 
Four-species-taler, three-species-taler, two-species-taler, species-taler, half-species-taler, quarter-species-taler, eighth-species-taler.
Issuing authorities: 
Christian III, Christian IV, Frederick III, Christian V, Frederick IV, Frederick V, Christian VII, Carl XIV Johan, Oscar I, Carl XV, Oscar II