Krone and øre


 Krone and øre coins from Oscar II 


As the nineteenth century advanced, the idea of having international units for coins, weights and measures gained a following. Being the least vulnerable of the two classic coin metals when their relative values changed, gold was increasingly being used as coin metal. An international coin convention held in Paris in 1867 initiated discussions on the issue. The Latin Monetary Union of 1865, with France and its franc currency as leading elements could be considered forerunner of a common monetary system for "civilised" states. However, the country's defeat in the French-German War of 1870-71 undermined the prestige of France and the potential of the franc as a universal coin. 

In Scandinavian consultations the German gold mark now became the leading candidate. In the end, the three Scandinavian monarchies nonetheless decided on their own joint solution. The Scandinavian Monetary Convention, signed in 1872, was based on using the krone as the unit in a monetary system based on gold and the decimal system, where one krone = 100 øre. While the convention was ratified in Denmark and Sweden in 1873, the Norwegian national assembly (Storting) turned it down. Norway therefore had an intermediate stage with the gold species-taler as the main monetary unit. 

One species-taler gold = four krone = 120 skilling
Coins were minted with the denomination given in both systems, in species taler/skilling and in krone/øre. 

Two years later Norway joined the Scandinavian Monetary Convention; it was effective from 16 October 1875, introducing krone and øre in Norway too. From 1 January 1877, all calculations and accounting were to be carried out in the modern coinage. 

Monetary units: 
Twenty-krone, ten-krone, five-krone, krone, 50-øre, 25-øre, ten-øre, five-øre, two-øre, one-øre.
Issuing authorities: 
Oscar II, Haakon VII, Olav V, Harald V