Fridtjof Nansen

The medal for the Nobel Peace Prize

After his death, Fridtjof Nansen's orders, medals and plaques, and their associated diplomas, were donated to The University of Oslo Coin Cabinet. The abundant collection of distinctions Nansen received from all over the world can be grouped around four main periods in Nansen's life:   
  1. The voyage to Greenland; 1888-1889 
  2. The voyage to the North Pole; 1893-1896 
  3. His diplomatic, political and scientific work; 1905-1920 
  4. His humanitarian work in the service of the League of Nations; from 1920 
Hans Holst has described the badges of distinction conferred on Nansen and Roald Amundsen as laudatory sagas inscribed in metal:
The medals and decorations bestowed on Nansen and Amundsen bear witness to events in their lives and in the history of their time. We should listen to this testimony, listen to what these mementoes of honour tell us about battles and victories. Few biographies hold a stronger appeal to the ambition of youth; indeed, they urge us all to give our very best, each in our own profession. 
Nansen received honours in the form of orders, decorations and medals from all over the world for his contribution to polar research and humanitarian efforts. The Nobel Peace Prize medal, modelled by Gustav Vigeland, is considered the most distinguished medal in Nansen's rich collection.